Taking the Next Step

Today, I have no new material to share with you and you can blame that on me doing more reading than writing. In order to improve my own writing and to help others, I’ve joined Scribophile, a wonderful bunch of writers who critique each other’s work. They have a very good system in place to ensure that members both receive and give critiques. So far, I find their community friendly and welcoming. Have you had any experience with online critique groups? I would love to hear your thoughts.

On a personal note, I would like to thank all of my readers, and especially those who commented, for taking the time to read my work. Your ‘likes’ and comments encourage me greatly and help me to keep writing. You have even created a favourite; A writer’s nightmare: ‘Words are Like Magic’ has received a lot of attention. As a standalone short story,  it is very accessible to the casual reader. Also, I had a lot of fun writing it. So for those who missed it, here’s another chance 🙂

Because I am enjoying my writing this much, I am now contemplating  the next step and will try to write some stories for publication. I am compiling a list of possible magazines/e-zines that will take fantasy short stories. I you have any suggestions, then do let me know. I will share my list as soon as it is substantial enough.

Last but not least, The Caretaker is steadily progressing. If you have missed any installments, you can find them here. I am sternly resisting the urge to so some editing in this story until I have written its final scene. Some scenes that are already there, I’m not entirely happy with, but overall, the story begins to take shape.

As always, happy reading!
Emmy

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

4 responses to “Taking the Next Step”

  1. 2unpublishedgirls says :

    I think publishing your stories is a great idea. I really enjoy reading them. -RB Austin

  2. Margie Brimer says :

    If you’re considering taking the next step you should definitely check out Nathan Brandsord’s site! I couldn’t have figured out this whole process without it. http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2008/08/faqs.html

Leave a Reply

