Fear of the Finish Line

The last scene is already written, only a few small holes remain to be filled. With that first draft finish line firmly in sight, the eagerness to reach it is dissolving into fear of actually getting there. Writers really are weird creatures.

Apart from my finishing apprehension, I have made one rather significant change that, in hindsight, makes a lot of sense. My work in progress has gone by the name of Dark Prince for years. It has grown from two words to a concept in my mind. But somehow it was not really covering the essence of the story, it falsely suggested an association with demons or the devil. On top of that, it appears that another author, Christine Feehan, had used it for a title on one of her novels. So as of today, my nearly completed manuscript will be known under the shocking new name of (cue dramatic  music here): Fire Prince. It may take a while for me to get used to. So after finishing this blogpost, I’ll be doing some maintenance, replacing references with the new title to aid me in the process.

I’m setting a tentative deadline of July 1st for Fire Prince’s first draft (there, that nearly typed smoothly) and will try to refrain from doing edits, pondering publication or stare at the finishing line like a rabbit into headlights. Even if I have to crawl over it, I will.

Happy writing!

Emmy

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

3 responses to “Fear of the Finish Line”

  1. Codes says :

    I know the feeling. Although I’m not that close to finishing my first draft, I get that feeling almost with each chapter, haha. We are weird people, indeed, us writers.

    • Emmy says :

      How many chapters had you planned for again? That must be true torture.

      • Codes says :

        …just under 80. I exaggerate my feeling, but over time it does add up to something like torture. Good thing I love writing!

Leave a Reply

