And he said…

IMG_3636Dialogue is always more than just some people talking to each other. When you are not a native speaker of the language you write in (and I am not), dialogue can be very tricky indeed. Over the years and after reading tons of books and watching way too many bad series and movies, my idea of what dialogue should be in my novel has changed dramatically. In the process of editing some of the earlier chapters of the Fire Prince, I have come across some cringe-worthy bits of dialogue. The sentences seem artificial, the words are not in context and the speaker’s voice is all over the place.

Instead of making me despair, I feel very uplifted by this discovery. It means I have grown over the years as a writer. All those books and bad movies have not been in vain. In another ten years, I am sure that I will reread my corrected dialogue and come to the same conclusion. It means there is still a lot of room for growth.

After two chapters into the editing process proper, I know that I have my work cut out. The first thrill of holding that first draft copy in my hands has faded slightly and it feels like work again. I am determined to do my 50 pages a week so I will have my second draft finished by the end of august. My tentative deadline for publication will be the end of the year. There is still a long road ahead.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

2 responses to “And he said…”

  1. change it up editing says :

    Native language speakers struggle with dialogue; I’m impressed with your observations of “cringe-worthy bits of dialogue. The sentences seem artificial, the words are not in context and the speaker’s voice is all over the place.” Half the battle is recognizing the problem even exists!

    • Emmy says :

      That is encouraging. I will still have to fight the other half of the battle and so far there seem to be good days and bad days.

Leave a Reply

