Diving back into Editing

The last week of my vacation has seen a lot of under water activity. When the weather is this good, and we have some time to spare, me and my husband often go diving. Once under water with the sound of airbubbles for company, it is like entering a different world.

374460_10201319856499792_997192676_n

In the murky brown water, prehistoric looking fish loom out of the dark deep. Commmunication is reduced to gestures and travelling involves three dimensions at once. Swimming right over a mean looking fish is a lot more frightning then walking past a barking dog.

Most times, I derive a lot of pleasure from this activity but every now and then, I feel claustophobic and have to fight off a panicky feeling of ‘this is not right’ and ‘I don’t belong here’, or worse ‘I can’t breath’.

58274_10200738965610751_1363746164_n

Today I relived this same sense of claustrophobia when I opened up my draft version for editing. I wanted to close the file and open up a brand new world with different characters and new scenes and actions. The story I was trying to edit felt too confined, like I could not breath enough air through the tube.

I have decided that I will see this as a sign that I am almost ready to let go of this story. At the same time, I left the edit to tomorrow. Fighting more than one panic attack in two days is too much of a good thing.

Have a panic-free day!

Emmy

Tags: , , , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

3 responses to “Diving back into Editing”

  1. emilyramos says :

    Hmm, maybe you haven’t let the story sit long enough before going back to it?
    Diving sounds like fun! I wish I had a place to do that, but then again I’ve never been an awesome swimmer so maybe it wouldn’t work out for me. Still, it would be fun.
    Good luck with the writing!
    Take care,
    Emily

    • Emmy says :

      You might be right in that. Or perhaps it’s just my ‘last days of the holiday’ syndrome, feeling that I have not done enough with my spare time while I had it. I’ll soon dive back into the water and into my editing though, never fear!

      • emilyramos says :

        Ah yes, that could be it as well! I always feel as if I am wasting too much of my time. Still, as long as you are enjoying what you are doing, I don’t think it’s possible to “waste” time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

