Project Fire Up!

Life of an aspiring self-publishing author is never dull. To make sure it stays that way, I have launched Project Fire Up! This project will provide both the cover and booktrailer of my debut fantasy novel Fire Prince. With planning in the early stages, my dedicated team (my son and I really) are testing out ideas with the camera. Our first challenge is to produce both moving images and pictures of fire. Apart from nearly burning down our garden shed, we have learned heaps about photography. Tonight we will be working on our filming expertise. I will let you know if we still have a garden shed by early morning.

Our next venture will be on the subject of water. We can’t think of a better excuse to go down to the seaside. As you may have guessed by now, we are trying to capture the essence of the elements. Water and air will not be so hard to capture, but we are still debating how to capture earth. If you have any ideas, do let me know. (There are credit mentions available!)

I find this project helps me to sit down to editing. As the path to self-publishing gains structure, I know that at the base of it is the story. And although I am no perfectionist, I have my pride to get the story in the best shape I possibly can. Chapter four will be tackled this week, come burned sheds or low water.

Happy reading, writing, editing and filming!

Emmy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

6 responses to “Project Fire Up!”

  1. C. Jeffrey says :

    Great new photo on the header! Love it.

  2. 2unpublishedgirls says :

    I can’t wait to see your book trailer. It sounds intriguing. -RB

  3. Holly Ingraham says :

    For Earth: an “interesting” boulder, fit for a zen garden; a heap of sand really close up – wet sand at the shore crumbles attractively; strata of dirt or rock along a bluff; a pile of semi-precious nuggets heaped up with light coming through. I’m thinking of some rough-finished amethyst and fluorite I have.

    Do you still have a shed? J

    • Emmy says :

      You have given me some great ideas! I was thinking too much along the line of earth=dirt. So thank you.
      And yes, I’m happy to say that I still have a shed. Without scorch marks even.

Leave a Reply

