Rising from the Ashes: Returning to Writing

phoenix_reborn_by_iron_phoenix It has been months since new words graced this blog. Months in which I’ve been busy living. Unfortunately, that doesn’t automatically include writing.

The transition from nine-to-five office worker to finding my own rhythm to live has been more difficult than I imagined. Days stretch luxuriously and then seem to be over in a flash, leaving me to wonder what I’ve done with them. A million plans come and go without a lot of action to follow them up. A daily routine, at first spurned and laughed at, becomes a necessity for structure and consequently impossible to find.

And I’ve not talked about the guilt of getting up late on a lazy monday morning while somewhere in the back of my head, I feel the whole world has already been productive for hours and shakes their head at me in disgust. So I made to-do lists and reset my alarm clock, only to feel I’ve switched to another form of productive prison of my own making.

I’m glad to say I’ve given up on the guilt. I’ve also found a natural moment of waking that isn’t too early nor too late to have a few hours of morning. I’ve managed to put some structure into a week around which I’ve found time to actually work on plans. I no longer feel like I’m running around like a headless chicken. The energy that has gone into readjusting to a new situation has finally become available again to be creative. After months of readjusting, I feel it’s time to pick up the proverbial pen again (or laptop) and return to writing.

Where do you start?

Have you come back to writing after a dry spell?

Let me know how you did it.

Happy rising and writing.

Emmy

Tags: , ,

About Emmy

"The urge to write is like a feverdream. And I have been dreaming for most of my life."

3 responses to “Rising from the Ashes: Returning to Writing”

  1. emilyramos says :

    Hey there! Glad to see you’re back. I’ve been in a similar state of no-writing. I started again by setting myself a goal, abd saying that it didn’t matter the quality of what came out as long as I had something written. Good luck!

    • Emmy says :

      Hi Emily, good to see you here. Good advice! I’ll not be bothered with word count or even novel addition. I’ll just write. Good luck on your own writing. Hope to see your Quest for Salvation in print one day.

Leave a Reply

